Thank God for Research

I met one of my colleagues on the stairs just before Christmas and he just turned to me and said “I hate this f***ing job!” Of course, he didn’t mean all of it – he meant the teaching and the administrative load that comes with it. He was laden down with lab reports at the time. There is no doubt in my mind that teaching is something that one should do for a limited period before it burns you out.

Now, research is another thing. No matter how run-of-the-mill your work, there is nothing quite like the feeling of doing something that nobody has ever done before. After spending 18 months on a textbook it is nice to get back to thinking about research. It makes up for the drudgery of many of the other aspects of the job and explains why researchers get so upset when research budgets are cut. It’s not really that they are fearful for the ‘knowledge economy’. They just can’t imagine an academic life without research. I am fortunate in that most of my work these days involves mathematical modelling so I’m not dependent on running an expensive laboratory. I’ll always be able to do some research no matter how bad things get.

So whenever I feel like a change of job, I think of those rare times when I can just come in and follow my nose, juggle with equations for the morning, tear them up in the afternoon and go home ready to start again the next day.

About Greg Foley

A lecturer in Biotechnology in Dublin City University for more than 25 years. Trained as a Chemical Engineer in UCD (BE and PhD) and Cornell (MS). Does research on analysis and design of membrane filtration systems.
This entry was posted in education, Health. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thank God for Research

  1. cormac says:

    As long as you have somewhere quiet to think, that is. It is extremely diffciult to do any meaningful work if you share an office with other staff, or have to endure a noisy office next door, a situation that is commonplace in the IoT system…

    • Greg says:

      Cormac, I have a friend in CIT with the same problem. I’m lucky I have my own office. If only I could just switch off the computer I’d be more productive!

  2. cormac says:

    I know the feeling. Though i end up switching it on inorder to play white noise!

Leave a Reply

