Are you off for the summer yet?

Ah yes, the perennially irritating question asked by even those who should know better (e.g. family!).

For me, things reach their nadir a few years ago when I was contacted by a couple of ‘entrepreneurs’ who wanted to pick my brains about some new technology or other.

I met them in DCU on a very hot, sunny day in the middle of July. I collected them from reception (they were 30 minutes late and didn’t comment or apologise!) and took them over to my office. On the way, one of them turned to me and said “Must be great having the summer off in this weather”. I was genuinely left speechless. What can you say, really? They then proceeded to take up two hours of my time before leaving, never to be seen again.

About Greg Foley

A lecturer in Biotechnology in Dublin City University for more than 25 years. Trained as a Chemical Engineer in UCD (BE and PhD) and Cornell (MS). Does research on analysis and design of membrane filtration systems.
This entry was posted in education. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Are you off for the summer yet?

  1. Pingback: Ninth Level Ireland » Blog Archive » Are you off for the summer yet?

Leave a Reply

